LGTM Enterprise 1.22.1

Managing user-specific rules

You can define rules for an individual user that override their default access to a repository provider, or a project.

User-specific rules are managed using the Users administration page. This lists all users and shows the number of existing rules in the Authorizations column—initially all rows will show "0 existing."

Authorization concepts

Before you change a user's default authorization you should be familiar with the concepts that underpin user-specific authorization. The following help topics explain these concepts:

Displaying the user authorizations page

  1. On the Users page, find the user you want to edit.
  2. In the Authorizations column, click the Update link to display the user's authorizations page.

Any existing rules are listed in the Existing rules section. The authorization level defined by each rule is indicated by the light blue button.

Any changes you make to authorization rules are applied immediately.

Overriding authorization globally for a user

To set an authorization rule that applies to all projects for a user:

  1. Display the user's authorization page.
  2. In the Existing rules section, in the row for the Global authorization rule, click the appropriate blue button to set that level of authorization.

The description of the rule is updated to report the new scope.

This rule applies to all projects, for all repository providers, except where more specific rules at the repository provider level, or the project level, take precedence.

Overriding authorization for all projects associated with a repository provider

To set an authorization rule that controls a user's access to all of the projects hosted by a specific repository provider:

  1. Display the user's authorization page.
  2. In the New rules section, select the required repository provider from the Repository-level rule drop-down list.
  3. Click the appropriate blue button to create a rule with that level of authorization.

The new rule is created and added to the Existing rules section above.

This rule applies to all projects for the selected repository provider, except where more specific rules, at the project level, take precedence.

Overriding authorization for a project

To set an authorization rule that controls a user's access to a specific project:

  1. Display the user's authorization page.
  2. In the New rules section, use the first two Project-level rule fields to define the project to override:
    • Define the repository provider that hosts the repository for the project.
    • Type the immutable ID for the project.
  3. Click the appropriate blue button to create a rule with that level of authorization.

The new rule is created and added to the Existing rules section above.

This rule takes precedence over any rules defined for the repository provider or at the global level.

Editing and removing rules

  1. Display the user's authorization page.
  2. In the Existing rules section, for any rule:
    • Edit the authorization level—click a blue button associated with a rule to define a new authorization level for the rule.
    • Delete a rule—click the Remove button associated with the rule.

The rule is updated or deleted immediately.

Related topicsRelated topics